The NYCC Composer’s Competition

Each year, the New York Composers Circle sponsors a competition, open to composers of all ages who live in the New York metropolitan area, other than NYCC members and prior NYCC contest winners. The winning composition is performed at one of the NYCC’s concerts the following year, and the winner also receives one year’s free membership in the Composers Circle.

Winning composers and pieces of the annual New York Composers Circle Competitions:

2007: Dana Dimitri Richardson, Ballade, for piano

2008: Robert S. Cohen, The Mysterious Transformation of Johann B., for clarinet and 6 percussionists

2009: Elizabeth Lim, Wafting, for string quartet

2010: Scott D. Miller, Polychrome Stride, for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano

2011: Max Duykers, Glass Blue Cleft, for string quartet

2012: Jesse Diener-Bennett, Ninth for Two, for flute and violin

2013: Eric Segerstrom, Two Poems, for piano trio

2014: Vladimir Del Orbe, Contextual Enigma for clarinet, double bass, and piano.
Honorable Mentions for 2014: Jose Bevia, Trio No. 3 for Violin, Cello, and Piano; Jonathan Bingham, Quartet for Clarinet, Violin, Cello, and Piano

2015: Ross Griffey, Tied by a Chance Bond Together, for violin and piano

2016: No prize awarded.

2017: Andrey Komanetsky, String Quartet in Five Movements

Comments are closed