Scott D. Miller

Miller_ScottScott D. Miller studied composition with Milton Babbitt and Paul Lansky, as well as clarinet with David Krakauer. A graduate of Oberlin Conservatory, Miller also earned an MFA in composition from Princeton University and an MA in music education from Teachers College, Columbia University. He has received numerous awards and grants including ASCAP, NJSCA, Meet the Composer and in 2010, he won the New York Composers Circle Competition.

Miller has written extensively for various classical ensembles and has long explored diverse genres. He has composed musique concrète, electroacoustic music, experimental jazz, structured improvisation and works in collaboration with poets, dramatists and visual artists.

Recent performances include Phrenology: The Proper Study of Man (2013) for amplified violin, tenor saxophone, trombone and percussion, premiered at Symphony Space in June 2013; Pause = Pause for piano, premiered by Blair McMillen in April 2012; and Polychrome Stride for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano, premiered by the New York Composers Circle. In June 2014, NYCC will present his electronic micro-opera Mouth That Tears the Land (1988) for clarinet, organ, helicopter, air raid siren and the voices of Joseph McCarthy and Richard Nixon.

Miller’s works have been performed at Symphony Space, The Knitting Factory, Roulette, P.S. 122, CBGB’s Gallery, La Mama Galleria, Brooklyn Arts Exchange, Greenwich House, St. Mark’s Church, Lincoln Center Library and many other venues.  Beginning in 1988, Miller founded and directed the Inner Ear Music Series at the Brecht Forum and at Greenwich House, producing over seventy concerts by many prominent experimental composers and improvisers.
Personal website:

Videos from Scott D. Miller

Introduction to Pause = Pause|
Pause=Pause, Blair McMillan|

Polychrome Stride|

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *